I actually got this letter last Sunday evening, which was Monday in Korea.  So, hopefully I will be posting another letter tomorrow.

 

My first week in Korea has been great.  I don’t know exactly what I was expecting, but although I love it, it has been a little hard.  I have adjusted quite well to sleeping on the floor, except for that around four in the morning I am really warm because the floors are heated.  I like my mission president a lot.  Its funny because he is the quintessential Mission President.  I really don’t know how else to explain it… He just is.  He is very kind and makes sure his missionaries know that he cares and that he loves them and he is proud of them.  Sometimes I wish I could spend the whole mission in the mission office area, but there is so much to be done.
My companion’s name is Sister… Kim.  haha, I am sure you could have guessed that, but, alas that is what it is.  I love her. She is so sweet and loving and is teaching me how to be a better person. She doesn’t know much english and I don’t know much korean, so that has been really fun… especially because her english is really cute… there are somethings she says that sounds like she learned it from a computer and its really fun.  Other times, its really hard.  yesterday we went to church and I didn’t understand a single thing going on. I got up to bear my testimony and I am not exactly sure if I said everything write.  I do know that I closed my testimony the way I would close a prayer… oops.
So, by the end of church, I was really just down and i wanted to be with my family for a little while.  I couldn’t be happy.  But then we sat down to do companionship study and I started crying.  We struggled for a while to communicate why I was feeling the way I felt and then she said, “I know, all companions … this way” she started crying with me.  Something really sweet she said was ” we are each others family.  Because we can’t be with our real families, I am your mother, your sister, your grandmother… I am your family… and you are mine”  It was really sweet.
So, this morning, we found out that her grandmother passed away yesterday.  Because i cant really speak korean to comfort her, we just cried together.  She is doing well.  She said ” I think the holy spirit help me”  It was sweet and I find so much strength in her.  We are in the country side and I am pretty sure that me and an elder in the seosan area are the only english speaking people in the area.  SO, people stare and then when they see that I am a missionary, they pretend they dont see me.  Its great… I love this game.  Sometimes they say hello which is great to… because Its funny to hear their computer like voices.
Something I am grateful for:
I am greatful for my companion.  Really she is an angel.  I wish we could communicate a little better so I could tell her so! She really understands how to love people and I am learning alot from her.  I am grateful for the ward memebers here.  They really are so supportive of us and our cause.  There are a lot of problems that they have to face but they know where this true source of happiness comes from.  When we go to their houses, i feel like I am at home.
Something that made me laugh:
WE were at an investigators house.  We were teaching her a lesson and her ADORABLE six year old just thought that I was the bomb.  She kept talking to me in korean and I had absolutely no idea what she was saying. So then we were teaching her about joseph smith and trying to be good missionaries and she just kept putting stickers all over me. I kind of just wanted to laugh but that would have been weird.  Anyway, thats all I have time for
I love you all,
Have a great week.

